What to Wear to Work

This was a topic that caused some anxiety for me prior to our departure.  I could not find a definitive statement about the dress code in the offices of Hyderabad, so I will now give one for the rest of the world to reference.  It’s surprisingly simple.  The male “uniform” is dark slacks (some jeans are seen but not many and they are neat and pressed) and a neatly pressed button front shirt with a collar – a typical US dress shirt.  Long-sleeved and short-sleeved are equally represented.  Closed shoes appear to be required. Essentially every woman reporting to work was wearing a salwar kameez.  That is a wonderfully attractive garment in three pieces : a top that is knee length, generally short-sleeved, and made of a variety of fabrics, fairly fitted pants that coordinate with the top, and a matching long scarf that is artfully draped in a number of configurations.  Almost all women wear sandals. As Michael and Ed and I stood and watched about a thousand women enter the India Design Center (IDC) we were struck that no two women had on the same outfit.  The variety in pattern, color, texture and adornment is endless – and beautiful.  Every woman looks lovely in this “uniform” while still looking modest and professional.   I’m envious.  The striking thing to me is that the men have adopted western dress but the salwar is a traditional outfit that has transitioned to the modern workplace.  As I watch the little scooter taxis pull up on the dusty roads, I can’t help wondering how everyone manages to look so crisp and clean and neat.  We look somewhat disheveled at all times.  Again, I am envious.  The women who are not in a salwar tend to be in head-to-toe covering black outfits, including face shields.  The sort of outfit one would associate with Saudi Arabia.  I am told that Hyderabad has a very large Muslim population and many of them are quite traditional.  Again, I am struck by the fact that a woman wearing such an outfit will be riding alone on a scooter on her way to work in a coed environment.  I just find that interesting.    India really is “the Land of Contrasts” which I believe was their tourism campaign before the award-winning “Incredible India” campaign.

2 thoughts on “What to Wear to Work

  1. And will you be getting an opportunity to shop for and purchase some salwars for yourself?? I hope so. Enjoying seeing India vicariously through your eyes. Thanks!

Leave a comment