One Week from Tomorrow!

I read over the previous posts and saw four weeks, three weeks, two weeks, and now, unbelievably, almost suddenly – one week.  We have spent the last week checking and double checking our packing, documents, and arrangements.  We are very close to ready.  I suspect we will still go running out of the house, breathless, worried that we haven’t gotten everything done.  It’s pretty much a requirement for a big trip.  People keep asking me “Are you nervous about going?” or “Are you scared?”   The answer to both is “YES!”.  Terrified.  But not for the reasons you might think. My fears are all from the fact that we will be in loco parentis – we will be taking other people’s children to a place far, far away (to borrow from Star Wars).  My traveling companions are wonderful people and I have no reason to be concerned about them except for the abstract fear of something happening that I can’t control.  Ethan is sturdy, smart and dependable.  He is the Dalmatian that rides on the fire truck.  Michael is like a golden retriever – smart, loveable, happy, fun, excited about life and not afraid to show it.  Colton is the Doberman in the pack.  Dobermans are among the smartest dogs, tend to be quiet, and are frequently misunderstood.  Ed is the wise old Bassett hound lying on the porch who has seen too many rabbits run by to chase them all. And when he does chase one, he knows that he won’t catch it and wouldn’t really enjoy it if he did.  The pursuit is the fun part.  And me?  I’m a border collie.  Always working.  Always trying to keep things in control, rounding things up, keeping order.  Together, I think we will be a big pack of fun.  I sense that the guys are getting more comfortable being around us, which was my goal before we left.  I want them to feel that they can trust us, come to us with problems, ask us for advice – and know that what happens in India, stays in India (except for what gets posted on the blog!).

TL

1 thought on “One Week from Tomorrow!

  1. Toni, your linking specific humans to dog breeds is brilliant! I don’t know Michael, Colton, and Ethan very well yet, but I have to admit your assessment does seem to work. And Ed the golden and you the border collie are spot on for sure! I’m going to have a tough time not seeing dog faces when I look at the 5 of you when you get back to Rapid! (Michael and Colton, I’ll try not to let it affect my grading. :)) What a fantastic experience you are all sharing! Look forward to following your blog entries. Miss you and stay safe! Judy

Leave a comment